top of page

GinUrWay Medailles!

A few months ago, I started to write a new and exciting chapter for GinUrWay and today, I’m ready to share this news with you.

As my readers will know, It’s been a while that ’m convinced too often too many (Belgian) gins are launched. On an already overcrowded market, it’s hard for the average gin lover to stay up-to-date and to assess which gins are worth spending his or her hard-earned money on.

Unfortunately, consumers are often guided —or misguided— by a fancy bottle or by a medal the gin was awarded in yet another tasting competition.

That’s why I launch a new quality label featuring five silver and six gold medals today, fully independent and perhaps more importantly: fully financially disinterested—!

Silver medals are awarded to gins scoring from 85/100 up to 89/100 and gold medals from 90/100 up to 96/100.

It’s with pleasure and pride I can announce the first gin producers that will feature my scores on their bottles :

  • Forest dry winter gin: 93/100

GauGin II: 93/100

  • Ground Control potato Gin: 92/100

  • Eaglesburn navy Strength gin: 92/100

  • Alidor gin: 91/100

  • Baldwin’s gin: 91/100

  • GauGin I: 91/100

  • The Message gin: 91/100

  • Blosm appel: 90/100

  • Ground Control Corn Gin: 89/100

  • Ground Control Apple Gin: 87/100

  • Ginderella gin: 85/100

  • Ground Control Wheat Gin: 85/100

I have been contacted by a number of foreign gin brands too, but I will come to that later.

It is important to know that GinUrWay is financially disinterested with regard to this « Quality Label » and in the first place aims to guarantee its independent judgement. More often than not, gin producers today are asked to pay a serious amount of money as an entry fee to have their products invited to participate in a competition. Afterwards, they are required to pay good money once again to put one or more medals on their bottles. It is even bad practice that they gain a higher score if they pay more!

All the contrary for the GinUrWay scores and medals! Gin producers will have to pay the printing costs directly to the printing company. The printing company will then send the medals directly to the gin producer once they are printed!

To me it is of the utmost importance that the consumer is well informed about which gins offer quality and which do not. Hopefully this way, I can contribute to the flourishment of good quality gins and the swift disappearance of « quick money gins » !

Author: G.V of GinUrWay

Final editing: K.H of G&Teasing

All rights reserved. No portion of this text may be reproduced in any form, or by any means, without prior written consent of the authors.

Scores :

60-69/100: okay, this is gin, nothing more!

70-79/100 : a little bit better, but not good enough to feature at my bar

80-85/100 : we are slowly getting there, but still, I’m not entirely convinced

85-89/100 : allright! This makes me happy! These ones I’ll buy! Top 100 material!

90-95/100 : Yes! Give me a full box! Very much my thing, a real topper! Top 50 material!

96-100/100 : Only one out of the 500 gins I have tasted, made this level! 96/100: Tarquin’s Dry Gin The Nomadic Limited Edition.

  • Een aantal maanden geleden ben ik met GinUrWay in alle stilte aan een spannend en nieuw hoofdstuk van mijn ginverhaal beginnen schrijven en nu kan ik het eindelijk met jullie delen.

Zoals mijn lezers weten ben ik al geruime tijd van mening dat er te veel en te vaak nieuwe (Belgische) gins op de markt komen zodat de gemiddelde ginliefhebber vaak door de bomen het bos niet meer ziet, laat staan dat hij weet welke gins goed genoeg zijn om zijn zuurverdiende centen aan te spenderen. Helaas laat de consument zich dikwijls leiden door een mooie fles of door een medaille die de bewuste gin op één of ander concours heeft gekregen.

Daarom lanceer ik vandaag - volledig onafhankelijk en vooral: volstrekt belangeloos - een nieuw kwaliteitslabel bestaande uit 5 zilveren en 6 gouden medailles!

Vertrekkend vanaf 85/100 tot en met 89/100 voor de zilveren en vanaf 90/100 tot en met 96/100 voor de gouden medaille.

Met veel plezier en met de nodige trots stel ik jullie dan ook voor aan de eerste ginproducenten die mijn scores op hun fles gaan kleven:

  • Forest dry winter gin : 93/100

  • GauGin II : 93/100

  • Ground Control aardappel : 92/100

  • Eaglesburn navy Strength gin: 92/100

  • Alidor gin: 91/100

  • Baldwin’s gin: 91/100

  • GauGin I : 91/100

  • The Message gin: 91/100

  • Blosm appel 90/100

  • Ground Control mais 89/100

  • Ground Control appel 87/100

  • Ginderella gin 85/100

  • Ground Control tarwe 85/100

  • Ben ik in de 528 gins die ik al geproefd heb nog maar 1 keer tegen gekomen!

96/100 : Tarquin’s Dry Gin The Nomadic Limited Edition.

Daarnaast werd ik nog gecontacteerd door een aantal buitenlandse ginmerken, maar daar kom ik later nog op terug.

Wat vooral belangrijk is om weten is dat GinUrWay aan dit “kwaliteitslabel” niets wil overhouden en in de eerste plaats zijn onafhankelijkheid wil bewaren.

Nu is het helaas vaak zo dat ginproducenten een fiks bedrag moeten ophoesten om hun gin nog maar te mógen insturen voor een bepaald concours en dat ze daarna nóg eens een aanzienlijke som betalen om deze of gene medaille op hun flessen te mogen kleven. Het is een kwalijke praktijk dat ze zelfs een hogere score krijgen als ze meer betalen!

Dat is hier dus – voor alle duidelijkheid – NIET het geval! Integendeel zelfs! Ginproducenten moeten de kosten van de klevers rechtstreeks aan de drukker betalen en die stuurt ze rechtstreeks naar hen van zodra ze gedrukt zijn!

Ik vind het heel erg belangrijk dat de consument nu duidelijk weet welke gins kwalitatief goed zijn en welke niet. Hopelijk kan ik er zo op termijn voor zorgen dat enkel de kwalitatieve gins overleven en de “snel- geldgewin-gins” zo snel mogelijk weer verdwijnen!

Auteur: G.V van Gin Ur Way

Eindredactie: K.H van G&Teasing

Zonder toestemming van de auteur mag niks uit deze tekst worden overgenomen!

Scores:

Tussen 60 en 69 op 100 staat voor:

OK, dit is gin, maar verder ook niets.

Tussen 70 en 79 op 100 staat voor:

Is weeral iets beter maar nog niet goed genoeg om in mijn kast te staan.

Tussen 80 en 85 op 100 staat voor :

Nu beginnen we er te komen, maar echt helemaal overtuigd ben ik nog niet. Zeg maar de twijfel gevallen.

Tussen 85 en 89 op 100 staat voor:

Alright! Hier word ik al blij van. Die zou ik nog eens kopen. Top 100 materiaal.

Tussen 90 en 95 staat voor:

Yes! Geef me meteen maar een hele doos! Heel erg mijn ding, echte topper! Top 50 materiaal!

Tussen 96 en 100 staat voor:

bottom of page